7/31 – Home For My Hooks.

This one was another thing that just sat there for awhile – unfinished. I tend to do that. Usually it goes like this – buy some awesome new yarns, get excited, work on a piece the whole evening, go to sleep, forget about the item for days/weeks. Is it just me?

As I’m not with my yarn stash at the moment I’m trying to remember which brands did I use. The green should be Rowan Fine Milk Cotton (70% cotton, 30% milk protein). It feels really soft and snuggly. The grey shade is I think Rowan Purelife Organic Cotton (100% organic cotton) – again the organic cotton just feels different and special. Unfortunately they don’t make either of them any more. The red/brown tone is Rowan Purelife Revive (recycled cotton: 36%, recycled silk: 36%, recycled viscose: 28%) which I also used on one of my bunnies. This one is a bit more stark but looks and works great as well. I’ll take a look and see if I was wrong on any of the yarns.

I used the croched seed stitch for the main part and finished it up with a flowy lace trim. I had questions wether to crochet the inside or use a fabric I stuck with the last. I was afraid that maybe the finer hooks would poke through the crochet surface. Was I right?

Sorry for the small and crappy cuality picture as I said I’m not with my yarn stash I’m also not with my pictures. I took it from the web where I once put it (they don’t allow high cuality pictures there sadly). I finished during a work-along themed “finishing unfinished projects”. I also made it thinking it would help me not losing my hooks. As far as I have noticed – it doesen’t. I still tend to keep my hooks in WIPs and there really is too many of them. I am trying to finish them all up as well but two new projects take the place of one finished one. Maybe it’s not so bad or maybe not always but sometimes. It’s more common with large and boring things. Amigurumies might not take less time than some of the other stuff that are larger but they are tricky. I kind of like it as the motoric crocheting-all-the-same-pattern is tiring. Seems obwious now that I make tiny little things huh?

How many unfinished projects do you have at the moment?

4 thoughts on “7/31 – Home For My Hooks.

  1. This looks really pretty. The edge is great and I think you chose well to put in the fabric. It would be very disappointing to have a needle poke through and pull at the yarn.
    To your question, in my mind I have a small collection of UFO’s but I’m sure if I looked it would be bigger. Plus, now that I have purchased my new books I find at least two new stitches/projects a day that I want to try.
    Now I will be keeping your design in mind for when I decide to make one, it is the best I have seen.

    1. Thank you! Good to know I made the right decision. (:
      I have always found it easier to start projects than finishing them. 😀
      Glad to hear that you like my design. I basically choose the stitch and made it up as I went on. I would be happy to help if you’d like to make one.

      1. Thank you. I might take you up on the offer down the track. Right now I need to finish a project I am working on, I have a 2 week end date. Thank you for the offer, that is great.

Leave a Reply

