13/31 – A Pot of Flowers.

This is one of those patterns that I stepped on, saved it somewhere and one day just had to make. I didn’t follow the pattern just the day I discovered it (sometimes happens) but it stood there. Lately I have been wanting to make my own designs more although this one was finished quite a while ago. Maybe even in spring. Some patterns/designs just look so adorable that it makes me want the same kind of thing. Usually I try to make some specialities in there as to make it my own but as for this particular plant I almost accidentally used the originalish colour scheme as I used the yarns I had in my stash. The pattern is from Lion BrandΒ but you have to register to see it (both the pattern and the registration are free).

I used 100% organic cotton yarns for the flowers, the yellow is 100% merised cotton and te leaves and ‘dirt’ just plain 100% cotton. The pot is 100% acrylic. The result was pretty much as I expected. I think every time I follow a pattern my expectations are pretty high. Not sure if the pattern was easy enough (to follow) or was it just pure luck – I ended up pretty much the same pot as on the picture I first looked at. Chuffed to bits about it!

I constantly remember or discover things I should make. I really hope the majority of them really gets done. It might take some time and effort but in the end I know I would be really pleased with myself if I manage to finish everything I plan.

As for the missed blog days it’s really going as I expected – not really active at weekends on that part. I am trying to stay off behind a computer as much as possible and the weekend let me do that a lot. It’s just a sporty interest for me to discover how many post I manage to make until the end of October (since 5th and not ‘pushing’ too much or making pointless posts). From then on I’ll see when I’ll finish my 31 posts that should have theoretically been fitted in one month. I’m looking forward to.

Last weekend I finished one tiny commission. It still needs capturing and possibly I will blog about it among some other similar makings which are all a follow-up to a previous design of mine. Any ideas?

Thought I’d remind you to also follow my blog and see if you like my Facebook page as well! πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “13/31 – A Pot of Flowers.

  1. That’s really cute! How big did it turn out? I didn’t start making my own patterns for awhile… in fact I still buy them on etsy sometimes when I’m feeling lazy or find an especially cute one! But I found that once I’d crocheted enough little animals you pick up on commonalities between them and then you can pretty much figure out how to make most things, which is really fun! That’s how I ended up free-handing this monster (http://craftyxtine.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/grumpy-monster-pattern/), which was ridiculously simple but a lot of fun πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you!
      I don’t have it on hand at the moment and I haven’t actually mesured it but I think it’s around 7-6cm tall.
      It’s true there is a certain system in making amigurumies and you can say the magic number is 6 here! πŸ˜‰
      I used to only make things from other’s patterns but as I progressed and developed my skills I wanted to make my own. To be honest it’s an easier way to please your expectations and get creative.
      Love the green Grumpy Monster The facial impressions are awesome! πŸ˜›

    1. I have always liked the colours of organic cotton yarns. Regardless the company or the maker they are always so recognizable and differnet.
      Thank you!

    1. How cool! I’d be chuffed to see how yours would turn out! (:
      It’s always interesting to see how one thing could be so different if made by many artists.

Leave a Reply

