Lined bag(s)

This next post is about stuff I made in school. I try and post them chronologically so whatever I made first comes first (or as similar as I can remember). I realise I have already shared some about my studies but mostly only exercises and no real projects. So this is about sewing.

At first we made a small bag in school similar to the one that we later had to do at home in full size.

IMG_9933

It was a small lined pouch that I later used for pens and pencils and other stuff I needed in school. I lined it with a vintage polka-dot fabric. I choose them from what I had brought with me. In some schools you get the supplies from there but then you also have to leave the products. I’m glad we got to keep everything.

IMG_9936

In the instructions the larger bag was very similar to this one, also including a flap and a long handle. It kind of looked like a laptop bag and some really did make themselves one. I decided to flip it portrait instead of landscape and didn’t use the flap or the long handle either. I made a backpack instead. Here is a rough draft of this one where you can also see the lining print which is not visible anywhere else including other details.

IMG_3339

The main fabric is a thicker sort of cotton and the lining (again vintage) much thinner. I also added floral welts to the seams inside, some cotton lace and cotton straps. Metal buckles I got from an old bag. They fit perfectly for both the straps and the bag, I was surprised really.

IMG_9819

I love neutral and gray colours and I also like the pop of colour. Yellow and gray go together really nice and altough I have now had the bag for more than a year I still love it. It’s the perfect size for everyday use and cycling around but also just fits A4 sized papers if necessary.

IMG_9038

Not the best picture but gives some sense of the size. It has no pockets but I don’t really miss them either. It’s this kind of perfect size bag that nothing gets lost in it because you can’t fit too much in there, just the necessities.

I’m planning on making more of them. I want to try pockets whether on the outside, the sides or inside. Also I want to see if I still remember how to make one. But this one is not bad for the first try, eh? Let me know in the comments what you think!

Next post will be crochet related again to continue the amigurumi alphabet.

Leave a Reply

