Striped Cotton Rug.

Today I’m going to show you my very first loom weaving project. Before this I had only made a couple small samplers. Now our task was to create a full size striped yarn. It could be a rag rug and mine is but one could also use store bought material.

First question in my head was, where shall I do this? I don’t own a loom and I live in a really small flat so getting one wouldn’t be an option either. Also I live about 254 km from school so as it was a homework task this didn’t seem an option either. Including the fact that most of my classmates already cued up for them.

A couple of school sessions later I had thought about contacting a local cultural centre that I read had a loom but I hadn’t done that either. And in school it turned out there was no cue either any more. So all I had to do before next school week was to get the rags and cut them. I had a colour scheme in my head but it changed a little as to what colours I was getting from my parents place and from thrift stores. It turns out greens are rather rare.

The cutting took very long time. I even had to sharpen my scissors a few times meanwhile. We had a rough number how many kilos of material we should have but I’m bad with numbers and don’t remember it. I do remember I had spare (which is way better than the opposite) and could share them with my classmates. We also had measures that we had to keep so here is my sketch with some samples (pardon the horrible quality).

IMG_3327.JPG

The weaving itself was a joy. I enjoyed every bit of it and it went much faster than I had anticipated. Some said they had sore backs/shoulders/bottoms the next day but I didn’t get any of that. If I ever should have a larger space of my own I shall definitely buy myself a loom too.

IMG_4238.JPG

At first I put the finished rug in the bedroom where it fit perfectly between the wall and the bed and it stayed there for quite a while. Until a couple of months ago I needed to take photos of it for my portfolio so I brought it to our living room and now it stays there. I quite enjoy looking at it. The edges are somewhat wobbly but I think it’s due to different materials, some were a lot more stretchier than others. I don’t mind.

IMG_0099

Both ends got a fringe too for the last finishing touch. I really did enjoy weaving and the thought that I could reuse something purposely. Although many rug materials that you can buy are also scraps from fabric industry so it would have been not bad either.

So what does everyone think? I’m happy for my first rug. No idea when I’ll be able to make another one but we’ll see, there will be the time.

2 thoughts on “Striped Cotton Rug.

Leave a Reply

